Thursday, October 12, 2006

Continue working on remaining issues.

Monday, October 9, 2006

Continue working on Apache.

Thursday, October 5, 2006

Compile, configure and install the Apache Webserver. Follow Eelco's instructions.

Monday, October 2, 2006

Continue work on email MTA's.

Thursday, September 28, 2006

Install an Email Server on your rackmounted machine. Work in groups of four. Each group works on all of sendmail, qmail, postfix and exim. Follow Eelco's instructions.

Monday, September 25, 2006

Finish your work on DNS.

Thursday, September 21, 2006

Install a Domain Name Server on your rackmounted machine. Follow Eelco's instructions.

  • Installation of BIND and setting up a caching-only server.
  • Asking for a delegation from Jan-Philip and start serving your own forward zone.
  • Setting up a reverse lookup zone for a single IP address.
  • Arrange for your fellow students to serve as slave (secondary) for your zones. What about Jan-Philip as hostmaster of your parent domain?
  • (Bonus) Try getting a delegation of some address space from Jan-Philip and use these addresses in your forward and reverse zones.
  • (Bonus) Convert your server to using DNSSEC.

Monday, September 18, 2006

Install openSuSE on your own Dell Poweredge 850 according to Eelco's instructions.

Wednesday, September 13, 2006

Study the initialisation of Linux and Mac OS X:

  • Compare init on Linux and launchd on Mac OS X
  • Describe the startup scripts inside Linux and Mac OS X
  • Bonus: do the same for *BSD

Monday, September 11, 2006

Describe the boot process used by yaboot:

  • From disk
  • From the network

Thursday, September 7, 2006

  • Installation of Mac OS X from DVD.
  • Secondary install of OpenSuSE 10.1 from the network.
  • Getting acquainted with both systems and dual booting.

Monday, September 4, 2006

  • Help each other. Finish the exercises on wednesday if it seems to be too much for one day.
  • We will install an openSUSE Linux 10.1 distribution via a network install.
  • Eelco will supply instructions on Monday afternoon.
  • IMPORTANT: As long as you do not have a stable environment to work with, you have to back up your work offsite.

This topic does not exist yet

You've followed a link to a topic that doesn't exist yet. If permissions allow, you may create it by clicking on “Create this page”.